Award Recipient Title Sponsor
Best Short Film Anthony Anderson (producer) Flowergirl The City of Port Phillip
Best Production Design Norma Moriceau Blindman’s Bluff The City of Port Phillip’s Cultural Programs
Best Achievement in Direction Cate Shortland Flowergirl Newvision Films
Best New Director Patrick Hughes The Director The Producers’ and Directors’ Guild of Victoria
Craft Award David Ngoombujarra Harry’s War Cinemedia
Best Achievement in Cinematography Allan Collins Dust Kodak
Highly Commended Award for Cinematography Ray Argall The Bridge Australian Cinematographers’ Society
Best Achievement with an original screenplay Richard Frankland Harry’s War Australian Writers’ Guild
Best Documentary Anne Delaney, Brett Evans No Mess Open Channel
Best Comedy Chris Benz Noise Filmink
Best Animation Cath Murphy Like Drowning Planet X
Best Use of Digital Technology Jane Keneally Little Echo Lost Planet X
Best Achievement in Special Effects Dave Redman Peace and Quiet Complete Post
Best Achievement in Editing Chris Begley Naked Intent The Facility
Best Achievement in Sound Post Production Phil Winters Blindman’s Bluff Music and Effects
Best Achievement in Video Wain Fimeri Pozieres AAV
Best Film By a Student Jo Kennedy The Bridge Icon Digital Post
Audience Award for Most Popular Film Trudy Helier, Melanie Coombs Trapped if magazine
SBS Eat Carpet Award Jo Kennedy The Bridge sbs eatcarpet
Special Commendation for a Short Film Pamela Donnellan Unfinished Business Special Judges Award
Highly Commended Electronic Music Video Stephen Scott Telemetry Orchestra: Swingers International Special Judges Award
E MuVi Award Richard Grant Music clip for Snog’s “Are You Normal Enough?” Alchemy

* * *

The awards were all cash prizes.
The awards jury comprised: Adam Elliot, Nina Landis and Adam Zwar.